Multiple Scholarship Recipients for 2024 Franklin Krause New Horizons Scholarship

For Release Immediately: March 22, 2024
Hermosa, SD

The Franklin Krause Foundation, established within the South Dakota Community Foundation, is pleased to announce the 2024 New Horizons $1,500 scholarship has been awarded to Emily Lent of Custer, SD. With the exemplary quality of applicants this year, the scholarship committee also awarded a $500 scholarship to Wendy Iverson of Claire City, SD. Applicants must complete an application and essay and submit two letters of recommendation. The New Horizons scholarship is awarded based on academics, leadership, community service and extracurricular activities.

Emily Lent has excelled in her high school academic career at Custer High School and is involved in sports, extracurricular activities, church, and schoolwork. She has been employed in various jobs, including ranch hand and veterinary assistant. Emily has dedicated time to her local FFA, Custer Lutheran Fellowship’s youth group and volunteering with the SPARK Kids program. She plans to pursue animal science and pre-veterinary education at South Dakota State University.

Wendy Iverson is the head teacher at the Sisseton Head Start Center, a mother of five children and has been a daycare owner and operator. Wendy has decided to return to school at Northern State University to continue her education towards an Associate Degree in Early Childhood Education and possibly continue with her Special Education degree. She volunteers in multiple capacities in her community, including the Claire City Women’s Group, which raised enough funds for a new park in Claire City, SD.

The Scholarship Selection Committee would like to thank all this year’s applicants for their applications and congratulate Emily and Wendy on being named New Horizon scholarship recipients. We wish all the applicants much success with their college efforts.

If you missed this year’s scholarship competition, the opportunity to complete the 2025 scholarship application on the website. You can find the application and complete submission instructions on the website. Next year’s application deadline is March 1, 2025, and we will announce the winner in March 2025.