Applications Now Available for the $1,500 New Horizons Scholarship

For Immediate Release: October 1, 2022
Hermosa, SD

Franklin Krause Foundation New Horizons 1500 dollar scholarship applications now available

The Franklin Krause Foundation, established within the South Dakota Community Foundation, is pleased to announce a $1,500 scholarship will be made available for one eligible scholarship applicant for 2023. The Franklin Krause New Horizons Scholarship is available for residents of Roberts and Custer County, South Dakota and Richland County, North Dakota or contiguous counties.

Few scholarships are available specifically for non-traditional students who have decided to further their careers after being in the workforce for some time or for pursuing a degree at a skilled trade technical institute. The New Horizons Scholarship helps fill this void.

In 2020, the Franklin Krause Foundation launched the New Horizons Scholarship to honor Franklin’s lifelong agricultural pursuits, small business career and philanthropic interests.

Eligibility will be based on the following criteria:

  1. Must have completed high school (or obtained a GED) and are currently in the workforce for at least three (3) years and are/will be attending any eligible post-secondary school (commonly referred to as an older-than-average or non-traditional student); OR any qualified student who will be attending an eligible two-year skilled trade technical institute or college focused on a mechanical trade or agriculture
  2. Must be living in Custer (SD), Roberts (SD) or Richland (ND) county (or contiguous counties) and enrolled in an eligible post-secondary accredited school
  3. Must submit a completed application and essay on why the applicant wants to further their education
  4. Must submit two (2) letters of recommendation

The New Horizons Scholarship Application and complete submission instructions can be found at online. Applications are due February 1, 2023. The scholarship recipient will be chosen by a diverse, standing committee representing a resident of the primary counties, educators and agricultural business owners. The winner will be announced no later than March 1, 2023.